EV Charger Etiquette?

New to the Skoda Enyaq Forums? Introduce yourself here
ecodriver

Post by ecodriver »

Hi All,

I'm new to the world of EVs having recently taken delivery of an Enyaq - 800 miles on the clock and loving it so far.
While I wait for my home charger to be fitted (Looped supply DSO intervention needed), I'm stuck with public charging, which is not as much hassle as I thought it would be as 80% on the battery will comfortably do my commute for the week (3 days at 55 miles round trip).

Anyway while on public charge yesterday somebody came up and asked how long I had left - quick look at the dashboard and politely told the chap that the car said 25 minutes to go. He then stands there, looks at the charge screen, then informs me that he can get a free charge at this point with his membership card. My response... "no worries mate, and in 25 minutes you'll be able to get all of the free electricity you need". He still stands there in what has now become an awkward silence, again looks at the charge screen which is showing 55% on the battery and says to me "some people get very annoyed about this type of thing, but not me".

Now I'm wondering if I've missed some EV etiquette, you know like when you play golf for the first time and you don't realise that you shouldn't step across your partners line on the green!

Admittedly I was fitting roof bars on the vehicle while it was charging, but I just saw this as a way to kill time while the car charged rather than walk to a local shop/bar to pass an hour.
The car was clearly charging, as could be seen on the screen which he looked at twice.

Am I missing something here, or was this chap just being a bit passive aggressive.

Chris__M

Post by Chris__M »

New to it too - am still waiting for the car. So commenting a bit in ignorance, but interested in the discussion.