Swapped my order from an Ioniq 5 to an Enyak iV80

New to the Skoda Enyaq Forums? Introduce yourself here
ChangoMutney

Post by ChangoMutney »

Hi All, I've been driving a Prius since 2006 which I replaced with the Plug-in Version 2014. Been very happy with both cars. Super reliable, although a little boring. We've been a 1 car family since 2006 so whatever car we get has to do everything. I've been keeping an eye on the electric car market for many years and occasionally thought about getting a Tesla but it always seemed too impractical for loading up with camping and cycling gear. Recently went for a test drive in a Hyundai Ionic 5 and thought WOW, they've really come on. Put an order in the same day, feeling a little pressure due to supply issues and waiting times, salesman encouragement etc.

After a week of cooling off, trawling forums and starting to regret my choice of paint (matt gravity gold, was the only option for quickish delivery), I thought I really should test drive an Enyaq. I really wanted to not like it, to confirm I'd made the right choice..... Well, that didn't go to plan ;)

A number of things were starting to bug me about the i5 I had on order, none a deal-breaker on their own, but together they were starting to worry and annoy me. Silly door handles, which create a problem that doesn't need to be there (icy weather being of main concern), no rear wiper (bad for the UK 6 months a year) and then discussion and hinting of upping the battery of the long-range from 72 to 77kWh to match other countries but no definite date. Add that to the stunning looking, but completely impractical matt paint and it tipped me over the edge and I cancelled the order. TBH much of this was down to the bad launch in the UK of the Ioniq 5. It's a good car, but for me, they have just compromised practicality for aesthetics on too many decisions. The salesman was understanding and said he didn't blame me.