80X arriving: First things to do

All Skoda Enyaq related discussions
HugosDad

Post by HugosDad »

Hi,

Car is arriving tomorrow, I’m completely new to EV…

What do I need to do first? downloads, apps, charge cards etc?

Looking to get home charger fitted, waiting for a sparky to do the work.

Planning to tie in with my smarthome set up as much as possible and leverage excess solar for charging (even in Scotland!)

Excited to start this journey!
iV80X, Black Magic, 20” Vega Anthracite, Comfort Seat Pack Plus, Convenience Pack Plus, Heat Pump, Transport Pack, Light and View Pack Plus, Assisted Drive Pack Plus, Climate Pack Plus, Parking Pack, Family Pack. Acquired Aug 2023

CrowSysE243

Post by CrowSysE243 »

The ZapMap app is a very useful way of finding most of the chargers available if you are not going to do all your charging at home. As you are in Scotland it is worth considering getting a freenChargePlace Scotland account. Some of their chargers are still free or low cost and there is good coverage, however most of them do not accept credit/debit card and are not accessible from multinetwork accounts like Skoda PowerPass. Some can be used via a web interface without an account, however some can only be used with an RFID card, which cost £10 when we got ours. I understand that Transport Scotland plans to have ChargePlace Scotland broken up late 2025 as part of a move to accelerate the introduction of new infrastructure so a card may not be useful in the long term but ours has already paid for itself. Skoda PowerPass and Octopus Electroverse free accounts and cards are worth having as backup for other charging networks. New rapid chargers accept contact less credit/debit cards but can be cheaper to use with some multinetwork accounts. Octopus Electroverse provides a discount on some chargers on any account and if you are an Octopus customer there can be further savings.